Thursday, April 15, 2010

Congrats to Winter Basketball League champions!

(Top photo, L-R: Durriel Jones, Alex Johnson, Isaiah Cormier, Hans Glasser, Rich Lane, Tom Gibson, Jason Arriaga, Ben Eaton and Nick Cary are Hennessy. Bottom photo, L-R: Eric Nelson, Paul Carr, Jason Peterson, Otto Pijker, Chad Elfstron and John Bostick, with Mason Carr are Team Carr.)

The Winter Open and Masters league championships recently wrapped up with teams Hennessy and Carr taking home trophies.
Team Hennessy, captained by Tom Gibson, fought their way to a 77-67 victory over Irreconcilable Differences, captained by J.R. Ashe. Led by Bellevue Club basketball coach Isaiah Cormier with 23 points, Hennessy’s deep roster of 10 proved too much for Ashe’s young team to handle in the finals.
With a squad of five and no subs on the bench, Tony Bacon topped Irreconcilable Differences’ scoring with 26 points, but it wasn’t enough to overcome Hennessy.
In the Masters League finals, Team Carr beat Old & Slow 83-72. Captained by Paul Carr, Chad Elfstrom led the team in scoring with 32 points. Old & Slow, captained by Tim Cowin, was up by six at the half on the strength of eight three-pointers, but couldn’t maintain the sharp shooting for the win. Russ Chaney on Old and Slow led all scorers with 38 points.

No comments:

Post a Comment